The area of Sainte-Anne was one of the earliest settled areas in Manitoba. The first settlers to the area were from Québec and are reported to have arrived at Pointe-des-Chênes in 1856. The area was selected for its farmland and forest areas. The 198 families that settled into the area tried to make their living through agriculture. In order to supplement that living, the first industry to spring up in the area was that of supplying lumber for the construction of the St. Boniface Cathedral.
In the 1850's a trading post, a hotel, a general store, and even a jail were erected in Sainte-Anne. From 1868 to 1871, the construction of the Dawson Trail linking Fort William with St. Boniface was completed. This permitted the area of Sainte-Anne to further develop with the influx of travelers along this new Canadian highway.
In 1963, the Town of Sainte-Anne was incorporated. By this time the original settlement of Pointe du Bois was no longer the focal point of the community as the settlement had gradually moved north of the Seine River.
The Town of Sainte-Anne today is a thriving community of some 1534 residents. It boasts all of the amenities of comfortable living. Its residents enjoy fine churches, schools, indoor/outdoor recreational facilities, and municipal services. Situated within easy commuting distance of Winnipeg, the Town of Sainte-Anne will undoubtedly continue to be a community that attracts and retains its citizens.
This is a brief list of historic dates of the Town of Sainte-Anne: